Hearing the light

Why hear the light?

According to a report of the WHO, approximately 430 million people – over 5% of the world’s population – suffer from disabling hearing impairment and by 2050 nearly 700 million people are projected to require hearing rehabilitation. When conventional hearing aids can no longer provide relief, auditory signals can be directly converted into neural impulses in the auditory nerve by cochlear implants, bypassing the impaired sound coding inside the cochlea. This "sensory prosthesis", which has already been developed in the 70s of the 20th century, is used by more than 700,000 hearing impaired patients and is considered the most successful neuroprosthesis in the world. It uses a microphone to record sound and converts it in real time into electronic signals, splitting it into several channels coding for different frequency ranges. The information about the sound intensity in each frequency channel is then relayed to the auditory neurons via 12 to 24 electrode contacts placed along the tonotopic axis of the cochlea. Cochlear implants enable open speech comprehension in most users. However, they suffer from poor quality of sound encoding since, due to the large lateral spread of electrical current from each of the electrode contacts, too many auditory neurons surrounding the contact are stimulated at the same time (Fig. 1). Thus, the number of independent channels is very low (typically below 10) and the discrimination of frequency and volume is rather limited when listening with cochlear implants, as compared to normal hearing. This severely limits the ability to understand speech in background noise, to follow musical melodies, or to interpret the emotional tone in speech.

Figure 1: Schematic illustration of the function of cochlear implants
Left: Current electrical implant inside the cochlea with large lateral spread of electric stimulation from each of the 12 electrode contacts.
Right: Future optical implant with numerous emitters, whose light is focused onto the auditory nerve.


Since light can be much more efficiently focused, this fundamental problem could be solved by using light instead of electrical current to stimulate the neurons. Every light source would then excite a considerably smaller group of cells as compared to "electrical hearing" (Fig. 1). When sound stimuli are electronically split up into discrete frequency bands, future cochlear implants can then transfer this information via up to 100 independent stimulation channels using microscale light sources. This promises a significant improvement in the potential for discrimination of pitch and volume and thus a breakthrough in the restoration of hearing for the severely hearing impaired.


How can neurons hear the light?

Neurons are typically not light sensitive. However, Ernst Bamberg and Georg Nagel of the Max-Planck-Institute of Biophysics, along with Peter Hegemann of the Humboldt University in Berlin, have isolated and characterized a type of light sensitive proteins from green algae which has been tagged "channelrhodopsin". When using e.g. viruses as "gene shuttles" to transfer the genes coding for these proteins into different cells, they can be used as light-controlled "switches" to activate the cells, a procedure that has been termed "optogenetics". Specific viruses, which have been rendered harmless to the targeted organism by molecular modifications, are currently used within clinical studies for the treatment of congenintal blindness. We can use such viruses to introduce the optogenetic "switches" into auditory neurons to render them light sensitive. We have already demonstrated the feasibility and efficiency of cochlear optogenetics in several studies with rodents. With single-channel laser stimulation and multichannel stimulation from optical cochlear implants, we could activate the auditory system even in deaf animals, as we could demonstrate by recording light-evoked auditory brainstem responses. Additionally, we could show that, indeed, a more confined population of auditory neurons is activated when using light instead of electrical current as activating stimulus, that is comparable to the population activated by pure-tone sound stimuli.


Where do we go from here?

Timeline of auditory optogenetics research in Göttingen
early 2000s
Start
Developing the idea of auditory optogenetics
2008
Funding
First funding of feasibility studies by Bernstein Focus Neurotechnology (BFNT)
2009
Collaboration
Start of an ongoing collaboration with Prof. Ulrich Schwarz, EXSE, University of Chemnitz, and Dr. Patrick Ruther, IMTEK, University of Freiburg, on blue µLED implants
2014
Proof of concept
Proof of concept publication: Hernandez et al., 2014, J Clin Invest, demonstrates optogenetic stimulation of the auditory pathway
Proof of concept
Proof of concept publication: Goßler et al., 2014, J Clin Invest, proof of concept for multichannel optical cochlear implant
2015
Funding
Advanced Grant of the European Research Council (ERC) for the project "OptoHear - Cochlear Optogenetics for Auditory Research and Prosthetics"
Major research grant pushing the preclinical development of auditory optogenetics.

Funding
Leibniz-Prize of the German Research Foundation to Prof. Moser
Major German research prize to support the awardee's research, used among others to support the research on auditory optogenetics.
Funding
Project "Optical CI" funded by German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
Research on blue µLED-based optical cochlear implants
2018
Milestone
Demonstration of behavioral percept and near-physiological rates using optogenetic stimulation of the auditory pathway, Wrobel et al., 2018, Sci Transl Med
Collaboration
Details
Ongoing collaboration with Prof. Ulrich Schwarz, EXSE, University of Chemnitz, on optical cochlear implants
Funding
Funding via the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in preparation for the foundation of a spin-off company
2019
Spin-off
Foundation of the spin-off company OptoGenTech for development of auditory optogenetics for human use
Funding
Funding of the project "Optical Stimulation of the Auditory Pathway by Blue-Shifted Photoswitchable Glutamate Receptor Agonists" to research photopharmacology in auditory optogenetics within SPP 1926
2020
Funding
Funding of the MPG / Fraunhofer project "Neuropto" to explore optogenetic stimulation using oLEDs in the orange-red wavelength range

Milestone
Testing the efficiency of µLED implants in gerbils, Dieter et al., 2020, EMBO Mol Med
Milestone
Chronically implanted µLED implants in rats and gerbils, Keppeler et al., 2020, Sci Transl Med
2021
Milestone
Application of red optogenetics in vivo, Bali et al., 2021, EMBO Mol Med
Milestone
Imaging of implanted cochleae, Keppeler et al., 2020, PNAS
2022
Funding
Funding by Volkswagen-Stiftung from the "Niedersächsisches Vorab" (support of negotiations with Prof. Moser)
Funding
Funding by Volkswagen-Stiftung from the "Niedersächsisches Vorab" in support of the work on auditory optogenetics in Göttingen

Milestone
Consolidation of the oCI development team at the Institute for Auditory Neuroscience in Göttingen
2026
Future development
Planned phase I/II clinical trial
2028
Future development
Planned phase III clinical trial
2030
Future development
Planned EMA marketing authorisation


This method is now being refined to achieve the final goal of a clinical application (Fig. 2). In cooperation with optogeneticists, we have developed channelrhodopsins that are suitable for use in the inner ear and allow stimulation of neurons as close to physiological conditions as possible using low light intensities. Funded by the European Research Council as the Advanced Grant "OptoHear", the Institute for Auditory Neuroscience in Göttingen has now developed efficient and safe means of gene transfer into animal auditory neurons with the goal of future clinical studies in profoundly deaf patients. Within the BMBF-funded project "Optical_CI" we have developed innovative flexible micro-LED cochlear implants to enable optical stimulation even within the inner ear of small rodents. As an alternative, we are working on implants that make use of miniature light guide fed by red laser diodes. The final goal ist to develop cochlear implants for human use with 100 light sources (Optical cochlear implant demonstrator, Fig. 3). These probes are then hermetically sealed and their insertion, function, and stability are tested in animal trials. In functional studies we measure the temporal-, frequency-, and intensity-resolution of sound coding with optical multi-channel implants and compare this to normal and "electrical" hearing. In collaboration with Göttingen X-ray scientist Tim Salditt and colleagues we analyze the position and orientation of the optical cochlear implants and their light emitters within the cochlea using high resolution X-ray tomography (Fig. 4). Further, we perform microscopic examinations of inner ear and brain tissue to analyze potential damage by the gene shuttles, exogenous proteins, optical stimulation, and insertion of the implants.

Figure 3: Optical cochlear implant demonstrator
3D-printed human demonstrator for the optical cochlear implant developed by the Cochlear Optogenetics Program of the Göttingen Campus. A speech processor behind the outer ear (not visible) collects the surrounding sound via a microphone, converts and transmits the information to the implant, which in turn stimulates the auditory nerve within the cochlea via light emitters (here: blue).


Figure 4: Optical cochlear implant in a mouse cochlea
3D rendering of a mouse cochlea with the bony encapsulation (gray) and optical cochlear implant (magenta) derived from X-ray phase-constrast tomography. The micro-LED-based cochlear implant comprises almost 100 emitters on 5 mm length, targeting the spiral ganglion neurons (blue). The auditory nerve (blue) and inner hair cells (cyan, single row) are derived from a light sheet fluorescence microscopy image. Image credit: Daniel Keppeler and Christian Vogl, Institute for Auditory Neuroscience.


Figure 5: Keynote lecture: Towards the Optical Cochlear Implant: Optogenetic Stimulation of the Auditory Pathway
Keynote lecture held by Tobias Moser on his receipt of the Grand Prix scientifique 2020 from the Fondation Pour l'Audition.

Licht hören

Warum Licht hören?

Laut einem Bericht der WHO leiden etwa 430 Millionen Menschen - über 5 % der Weltbevölkerung - an Schwerhörigkeit und bis 2050 werden voraussichtlich fast 700 Millionen Menschen eine Hörrehabilitation benötigen. Wenn herkömmliche Hörgeräte keine Abhilfe mehr schaffen, können Hörsignale durch Cochlea-Implantate direkt in neuronale Impulse im Hörnerv umgewandelt werden, wobei die gestörte Schallkodierung in der Cochlea umgangen wird. Diese "Sinnesprothese", die bereits in den 70er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts entwickelt wurde, wird von mehr als 700.000 hörgeschädigten Patienten genutzt und gilt als die erfolgreichste Neuroprothese der Welt. Sie nimmt den Schall über ein Mikrofon auf und wandelt ihn in Echtzeit in elektronische Signale um, wobei sie ihn in mehrere Kanäle aufteilt, die für unterschiedliche Frequenzbereiche kodieren. Die Informationen über die Schallintensität in jedem Frequenzkanal werden dann über 12 bis 24 Elektrodenkontakte, die entlang der tonotopischen Achse der Cochlea platziert sind, an die Hörneuronen weitergeleitet. Cochlea-Implantate ermöglichen den meisten Anwendern, Sprache zu verstehen. Allerdings leiden sie unter einer schlechten Qualität der Schallkodierung, da aufgrund der großen lateralen Ausbreitung des elektrischen Stroms von jedem der Elektrodenkontakte aus zu viele auditorische Neuronen in der Umgebung des Kontakts gleichzeitig stimuliert werden (Abb. 1). Daher ist die Anzahl der unabhängigen Kanäle sehr gering (typischerweise unter 10) und die Frequenz- und Lautstärkediskriminierung ist beim Hören mit Cochlea-Implantaten im Vergleich zum normalen Hören eher eingeschränkt. Dies schränkt die Fähigkeit, Sprache im Hintergrundgeräusch zu verstehen, musikalischen Melodien zu folgen oder den emotionalen Tonfall in Sprache zu interpretieren, stark ein.

Abbildung 1: Schematische Darstellung der Funktion von Cochlea-Implantaten
Links: Aktuelles elektrisches Cochleaimplantat mit großer lateraler Ausbreitung der elektrischen Stimulation von jedem der 12 Elektrodenkontakte. Rechts: Zukünftiges optisches Implantat mit zahlreichen Emittern, deren Licht auf den Hörnerv fokussiert wird.


Da sich Licht wesentlich beser fokussieren lässt, könnte dieses grundsätzliche Problem gelöst werden, indem man Licht statt elektrischem Strom zur Stimulation der Neuronen verwendet. Jede Lichtquelle würde dann im Vergleich zum "elektrischen Hören" eine deutlich kleinere Gruppe von Zellen anregen (Abb. 1). Wenn Schallreize elektronisch in diskrete Frequenzbänder aufgespalten werden, können zukünftige Cochlea-Implantate diese Information über bis zu 100 unabhängige Stimulationskanäle mit mikroskaligen Lichtquellen übertragen. Dies verspricht eine deutliche Verbesserung der Unterscheidung von Tonhöhe und Lautstärke und damit einen Durchbruch bei der Wiederherstellung des Hörvermögens für hochgradig schwerhörige Menschen.


Wie können Nervenzellen das Licht hören?

Nervenzellen sind normalerweise nicht lichtempfindlich. Ernst Bamberg und Georg Nagel vom Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik haben jedoch zusammen mit Peter Hegemann von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin eine Art von lichtempfindlichen Proteinen aus Grünalgen isoliert und charakterisiert, die als "Kanalrhodopsine" bezeichnet werden. Werden die Gene, die für diese Proteine kodieren, z.B. mit Hilfe von Viren als "Genfähren", in verschiedene Zellen übertragen, können sie als lichtgesteuerte "Schalter" zur Aktivierung der Zellen eingesetzt werden, ein Verfahren, das als "Optogenetik" bezeichnet wird. Spezifische Viren, die durch molekulare Modifikationen für den Zielorganismus unschädlich gemacht wurden, werden derzeit im Rahmen klinischer Studien zur Behandlung der angeborenen Blindheit eingesetzt. Wir können solche Viren verwenden, um die optogenetischen "Schalter" in die Hörnervenzellen einzubringen und sie so lichtempfindlich zu machen. Wir haben die Machbarkeit und Effizienz der Cochlea-Optogenetik bereits in mehreren Studien mit Nagern demonstriert. Mit einkanaliger Laserstimulation und mehrkanaliger Stimulation durch optische Cochlea-Implantate konnten wir das auditorische System auch bei tauben Tieren aktivieren, wie wir durch die Aufzeichnung von lichtevozierten auditorischen Hirnstammantworten zeigen konnten. Außerdem konnten wir zeigen, dass in der Tat eine begrenztere Population von Hörnervenzellen aktiviert wird, wenn wir Licht anstelle von elektrischem Strom als Aktivierungsreiz verwenden. Diese ist mit der Population vergleichbar, die durch einfache Schallreize aktiviert wird.


Wie geht es jetzt weiter?

Zeitleiste der auditorischen Optogenetik-Forschung in Göttingen
frühe 2000er
Start
Entwicklung der Idee der auditorischen Optogenetik
2008
Förderung
Erste Finanzierung von Machbarkeitsstudien durch den Bernstein Focus Neurotechnology (BFNT)
2009
Zusammenarbeit
Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Ulrich Schwarz, EXSE, Universität Chemnitz, und Dr. Patrick Ruther, IMTEK, Universität Freiburg, zu blauen µLED-Implantaten
2014
Proof of concept
Proof-of-concept-Publikation: Hernandez et al., 2014, J Clin Invest, demonstriert optogenetische Stimulation der Hörbahn
2015
Förderung
Advanced Grant des European Research Council (ERC) für das Projekt "OptoHear - Cochlear Optogenetics for Auditory Research and Prosthetics"
Wichtige Forschungsförderung um die präklinische Entwicklung der auditorischen Optogenetik voranzutreiben

Förderung
Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft für Prof. Moser
Wichtiger Forschungspreis um die Forschung des Preisträgers voranzutreiben, genutzt u.a. zur Unterstützung der Erforschung an der auditorischen Optogenetik
Förderung
Projekt "Optical CI", gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
Forschung an blauen µLED-basierten optischen Cochlea-Implantaten
2018
Meilenstein
Demonstration von Verhaltenswahrnehmungen und annähernd physiologischer Aktivität durch optogenetische Stimulation der Hörbahn (Wrobel et al., 2018, Sci Transl Med)
Zusammenarbeit
Details
Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Ulrich Schwarz, EXSE, Universität Chemnitz, zu optischen Cochlea-Implantaten
Förderung
Förderung durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) in Vorbereitung einer Ausgründung
2019
Ausgründung
Gründung des Spin-off-Unternehmens OptoGenTech zur Entwicklung der auditorischen Optogenetik für den Einsatz am Menschen
Förderung
Förderung des Projekts "Optische Stimulation der Hörbahn mit dem blauen photo-schaltbaren Glutamat-Rezeptor-Agonist" zur Erforschung der Photopharmakologie in der auditorischen Optogenetik im Rahmen des Schwerpunktprogramms 1926 der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft
2020
Meilenstein
Prüfung der Effizienz von µLED-Implantaten in Wüstenrennmäusen, Dieter et al., 2020, EMBO Mol Med
Meilenstein
Chronisch implantierte µLED-Implantate in Ratten und Wüstenrennmäusen, Keppeler et al., 2020, Sci Transl Med
2021
Meilenstein
Anwendung roter Optogenetik in vivo, Bali et al., 2021, EMBO Mol Med
Meilenstein
Bildgebung von implantierten Cochleae, Keppeler et al., 2020, PNAS
2025
Zukünftige Entwicklung
Geplante klinische Phase I/II-Studie
2028
Zukünftige Entwicklung
Geplante klinische Phase III-Studie
2030
Zukünftige Entwicklung
Geplante Zulassung durch die EMA

Abbildung 2: Zeitleiste der auditorischen Optogenetik-Forschung in Göttingen


Diese Methode wird nun verfeinert, um das Endziel einer klinischen Anwendung zu erreichen (Abb. 2). In Zusammenarbeit mit Optogenetikern haben wir Channelrhodopsine entwickelt, die für den Einsatz im Innenohr geeignet sind und die Stimulation von Neuronen unter möglichst physiologischen Bedingungen mit geringen Lichtintensitäten ermöglichen. Gefördert vom Europäischen Forschungsrat als Advanced Grant "OptoHear" hat das Institut für Auditorische Neurowissenschaften in Göttingen nun effiziente und sichere Möglichkeiten des Gentransfers in tierische Hörnervenzellen entwickelt, mit dem Ziel zukünftiger klinischer Studien an hochgradig gehörlosen Patienten. Im Rahmen des vom BMBF geförderten Projekts "Optical_CI" haben wir innovative flexible Mikro-LED-Cochlea-Implantate entwickelt, die eine optische Stimulation auch im Innenohr von kleinen Nagern ermöglichen. Alternativ arbeiten wir an Implantaten, die einen Miniatur-Lichtleiter nutzen, der von roten Laserdioden gespeist wird. Das Endziel ist die Entwicklung von Cochlea-Implantaten für den menschlichen Gebrauch mit 100 Lichtquellen (illustiert im Demonstrator für das optische Cochlea-Implantat, Abb. 3). Diese Sonden werden dann hermetisch versiegelt und ihr Einsatz, ihre Funktionalität und Stabilität in Tierversuchen getestet. In funktionellen Studien messen wir die Zeit-, Frequenz- und Intensitätsauflösung der Schallkodierung mit optischen Mehrkanalimplantaten und vergleichen diese mit dem normalen und dem "elektrischen" Hören. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Göttinger Röntgenwissenschaftler Tim Salditt und Kollegen analysieren wir die Position und Orientierung der optischen Cochlea-Implantate und ihrer Lichtquellen innerhalb der Cochlea mittels hochauflösender Röntgentomographie (Abb. 4). Weiterhin führen wir mikroskopische Untersuchungen von Innenohr- und Hirngewebe durch, um mögliche Schäden durch die Genfähren, exogene Proteine, optische Stimulation und das Einsetzen der Implantate zu analysieren.

Abbildung 3: Demonstrator für das optische Cochlea-Implantat
3D-gedruckter menschlicher Demonstrator für das optische Cochlea-Implantat, entwickelt vom Cochlear Optogenetics Program des Göttingen Campus. Ein Sprachprozessor hinter der Ohrmuschel (nicht sichtbar) nimmt die Umgebungsgeräusche über ein Mikrofon auf, wandelt sie um und leitet die Informationen an das Implantat weiter, das wiederum den Hörnerv in der Cochlea über Lichtquellen (hier: blau) stimuliert.


Abbildung 4: Optisches Cochlea-Implantat in einer Maus-Cochlea
3D-Rendering einer Maus-Cochlea mit der knöchernen Verkapselung (grau) und dem optischen Cochlea-Implantat (magenta), abgebildet mittel Röntgen-Phasenkonstrasttomographie. Das Mikro-LED-basierte Cochlea-Implantat umfasst fast 100 Emitter auf 5 mm Länge, die auf die Spiralganglionneuronen des Hörnervs (blau) zielen. Der Hörnerv und die inneren Haarzellen (cyan, einreihig) sind aus einem Lichtblatt-Fluoreszenzmikroskopie-Bild entnommen. Bildnachweis: Daniel Keppeler und Christian Vogl, Institut für Auditorische Neurowissenschaften.


Abbildung 5: Keynote-Vortrag: Auf dem Weg zum optischen Cochlea-Implantat: Optogenetische Stimulation der Hörbahn
Keynote-Vortrag von Tobias Moser anlässlich der Verleihung des Grand Prix Scientifique 2020 durch die Fondation Pour l'Audition.